Europe

English Albanian Bulgarian Croatian Czech Danish Estonian French German Greek Irish Italian Polish Portuguese Romanian Russian Serbian Slovak Slovenian Spanish Turkish Ukrainian

Asia

Armenian Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Filipino Hebrew Hindi Japanese Korean Persian Thai Urdu

Africa

Afrikaans Arabic Swahili
Follow me in twitter. FLAAR reports Add a Nicholas Hellmunth to yor network. FLAAR reports.
| Share
News Feeds:
HP Latex 260 instead of HP Designjet L26500; HP Latex 280 instead of HP Designjet L28500. Print E-mail

HP Designjet L26500 changes name to HP Latex 260

And HP Latex 280 28500 is the new name for former HP Designjet L28500. In the beginning, the first serious heavy duty latex printer was the HP Designjet L65500 (drupa 2008). Within a few years the name HP Scitex replaced HP Designjet for the high-end heavy-duty metal construction.

The entry-level HP latex printers were based on an HP Z-series plastic body, and kept the HP Designjet series name.

Today (May 2013, updated June 2013) HP is announcing a change of name for most of their latex printers. While the series “Scitex” is understandable for the sophisticated 3.2 meter printers with their solid metal structure, it is a surprise to see the plastic housing also switched to a “Scitex” designation. I can understand they want to get away from the old-fashioned name “Designjet” which are still called plotters by many in the industry.

But, it’s there company and they can call whatever chassis they wish whichever name they wish.

New inks are rumored, and a lower curing temperature (to compete with Mimaki latex curing temperatures). The new inks are not yet clearly defined on the Internet, but the new name was already shown on large posters and on many web sites of HP dealers.

The HP DesignJet L26500 was exhibited at ISA 2013 in Las Vegas last April

The HP DesignJet L26500 was exhibited at ISA 2013 in Las Vegas last April


Tabulated list of HP latex ink printers

The purpose of this FLAAR Report is to assist print shop owners to understand, from a source totally unaffiliated and unrelated to HP, about the benefits, capabilities, and the occasional issues with the latex ink chemistry and curing technology.

I have visited printshops with HP latex ink printers in several parts of the world and have heard lots of comments from ink chemists who do not work for HP about the innovative latex ink.

I have also seen the sad attempt by one company to brand a miscellaneous ink for Roland as "latex ink" in an attempt to suggest this ink will produce results the same as the original HP latex ink. Even though we do not work with or for HP, we do not accept any PR agency naming a miscellaneous ink as "latex" unless it has comparable curing and applications potential as the original HP latex ink.

The only inks we accept as legiminate "latex inks" presently are
• the original HP latex inks,
• the Mimaki system (for piezo printheads, probably Ricoh heads)
• and the OEM inks of Sam Ink (for HP thermal printheads).
We will be testing a new third-party latex ink in June, by a major international ink company.

AquaRes from Sepiax is a legitimate and innovative (resin) ink, but does not print well on PVC vinyl, so is not in our discussions here. True latex ink (HP, Sam, Mimaki, and the new one to be announced in June) all print acceptably on vinyl.

We have divided our tabulations so that each tabulation focuses on comparing a related series of aspects, attributes, and factors on HP latex printers.

If you know of things we should add (or improve), please contact us at FrontDesk "at" FLAAR.org. Please indicate clearly what aspect you are writing about (since we have five different web sites with over a thousand pages total).

Most of the tabulations do not yet have the specs for the renamed HP Designjet (the ones now renamed HP Scitex L26500 and HP Scitex L28500).

Media width Printhead(s) Productivity at
max resolution
Reasonable speed with reasonable quality
(but not top quality nor speed)
Weight Average cost in
US $
L25500
42" • CH612A HP 789 Yellow/Black Designjet Printhead

• CH613A HP 789 Cyan/Light Cyan Designjet Printhead

• CH614A HP 789 Light Magenta/Magenta Designjet Printhead
6.3 m²/hr
(16-pass bidirectional)
22.8 m²/hr
(4-pass bidirectional)
161 kg (355 lb)
L25500 60" • CH612A HP 789 Yellow/Black Designjet Printhead

• CH613A HP 789 Cyan/Light Cyan Designjet Printhead

• CH614A HP 789 Light Magenta/Magenta Designjet Printhead
6.3 m²/hr
(16-pass bidirectional)
22.8 m²/hr
(4-pass bidirectional)
181 kg (399 lb)
L26500 60" • CN702A HP 792 Yellow/Black Designjet Printhead

• CN703A HP 792 Cyan/Light Cyan Designjet Printhead

• CN704A HP 792 Light Magenta/Magenta Designjet Printhead
9.0 m²/hr
(10-pass bidirectional)
22.8 m²/hr
(4-pass bidirectional)
202kg (445lb)
L28500
104" • CN702A HP 792 Yellow/Black Designjet Printhead

• CN703A HP 792 Cyan/Light Cyan Designjet Printhead

• CN704A HP 792 Light Magenta/Magenta Designjet Printhead
9.2 m²/hr
(16-pass bidirectional)
70 m²/hr
(2-pass bidirectional)
380 kg (837 lb)
L65500 104" • CC582A HP 786 Yellow/Magenta Designjet Printhead

• CC583A HP 786 Cyan/Black Designjet Printhead

• CC584A HP 786 Lt Magenta/Lt Cyan Designjet Printhead
Indoor 21 m²/hr (8 pass)

Outdoor 55 m²/hr (3 pass)
Indoor 43 m²/hr (4 pass)

Outdoor 79 m²/hr (2-pass)
970 kg (2138 lb)
LX600 104" • CC582A HP LX600 Yellow/Magenta Scitex Printhead

• CC583A HP LX600 Cyan/Black Scitex Printhead

• CC584A HP LX600 Lt Magenta/Lt Cyan Scitex Printhead
23 m2/hr
(10-pass bidirectional)
79 m2/hr
(2-pass bidirectional)
970kg (2138 lb)
LX800 3.2m • CC582A HP LX600 Yellow/Magenta Scitex Printhead

• CC583A HP LX600 Cyan/Black Scitex Printhead

• CC584A HP LX600 Lt Magenta/Lt Cyan Scitex Printhead
27 m2/hr
(290 ft2/hr), 10-pass bidirectional)
88 m2/hr,
(2-pass bidirectional)
1118 kg (2464 lb)
LX820 3.2m • CN667A HP LX610 Yellow/Magenta Scitex Printhead

• CN668A HP LX610 Cyan/Black Scitex Printhead

• CN669A HP LX610 Lt Magenta/Lt Cyan Scitex Printhead
27 m2/hr
(290 ft2/hr), (10-pass bidirectional)
45 m2/hr
(484 ft2/hr), (6-pass bidirectional)
1053 kg (2321 kg) sic, an error in the brochure.
LX850 3.2m • CN667A HP LX610 Yellow/Magenta Scitex Printhead

• CN668A HP LX610 Cyan/Black Scitex Printhead

• CN669A HP LX610 Lt Magenta/Lt Cyan Scitex Printhead
27 m2/hr (290 ft2/hr),
(10-pass bidirectional)
45 m2/hr (484 ft2/hr),
(6-pass bidirectional)
1118 kg (2464 lb) 231,000 Canadian $

We list productivity at max resolution because most faster speeds are unrealistic. To be fair we also list a mid-range speed, realizing that the quality will be okay but perhaps not always superlative.


HP DesignJet L26500 at ISA 2013

HP DesignJet L26500 at ISA 2013


Be aware that latex ink curing of an HP printer requires a significant start-up time, to get everything heated up inside the system. In effect this is down-time. I doubt that the down-time of warm-up time is calculated in production-per-hour. But remember, with any printer, full solvent, UV with mercury-arc curing, or HP latex, the square-meters printed during warm-up is ZERO.

Electrical usage, and its effect on price and operating expenses
Media width Start up Active Stand by
L25500 42"
1.07m
3.5 kW 1.8 kW 72 watts
L25500 60"
1.52m
4.8 kW 2.6 kW 72 watts
L26500 61"
1.55m
4.8 kW 2.7 kW 50 watts
L28500 104"
2.64m
8 to 10 kW 4.2 kW 155 watts
L65500 104"
2.64m
LX600 104"
2.64m
6 to 12 kW 6 to 12 W 310 watts
LX800 126"
3.2m
15 kW 8 to 15 kW 310 watts
LX820 126"
3.2m
Not listed at all 8 to 15 kW 310 watts
LX850 126"
3.2m
Not listed at all 8 to 15 kW 310 watts

On May 2013, there were no detailed data sheets for the HP Scitex LX820 on the HP Canada web site. But if you waste more time on the Internet you can easily find data sheets from other HP resources.

Launch date Media width Media width # of ink type (2012-2013)
HP Designjet L25500 Viscom Germany 2009 (official launch was Oct 1, 2009) 1.07m 42" 789
HP Designjet L25500 Viscom Germany 2009 (official launch was Oct 1, 2009) 1.52m 60" 789
HP Designjet L26500 FESPA Barcelona 2012 1.55m 61" 792
HP Designjet L28500 Announced 2011, shipped 2012 2.642m 104" 792
HP Latex 260 Announced May 2013
HP Latex 280 Announced May 2013
HP Designjet L65500 Drupa 2008 1.55m 61" 786/LX600
HP Scitex LX600 FESPA Munich 2010, discontinued 2.64m 104" LX600
HP Scitex LX800 FESPA Munich 2010, discontinued 3.2m 126" LX600
HP Scitex LX820 FESPA Hamburg 2011 3.2m 126" 792/LX610
HP Scitex LX850 FESPA Hamburg 2011 3.2m 126" 792/LX610
HP Latex 3000 To be announced June 2013

For reasons we do not understand, the HP Scitex LX850 industrial printer is listed on an HP web site as discontinued (May 2013 is the day we noticed this). During the first week of May 2013, the only Scitex version which was listed was the LX600, which is only 2.64 meter width. The LX800, LX820, and LX850 were 3.2 meter workhorses.

The HP Scitex LX600, LXLX820, LX850 are listed on one HP web site (May 20, 2013) but many of these are elsewhere listed as DISCONTINUED. This is very confusing. The reason for them being discontinued was to replace them with the HP Latex 3000.

It is very confusing that HP launched the LX850 and LX820 with such fanfare in 2011, and they have disappeared already. Was there a flaw in them that will be replaced by a totally new model? Was it not realistic to cure media as wide as 3.2 meters without getting wobble and sag in the image?.


Notes on the models of HP Scitex LX and HP Designjet L latex printers

The HP Scitex LX600 was originally named the HP Designjet L65500. It was a great concept but I do not understand why this FIVE-year old printer is the only one over 60" which is featured today?.

Improvements with the second generation HP latex ink (HP 792, HP LX610)

What are differences between first generation ink for HP Designjet latex (launched at Drupa 2008) and next generation ink (launched a year or so ago)?

What are the differences between the ink for the most recent model HP Designjet and the current model of HP latex? Differences other than the size of the ink container are what we are looking for.

1. Heavier pigment loading, gives wider color gamut;
2. Glossier surface finish
3. A more sophisticated formula, production, and quality control process.


The official wording in the HP brochure is used in some of our descriptions so you can see what the statements are.

So the original inks were named HP 789 and HP LX600. The HP 789 latex Designjet ink cartridges are used in the early HP Designjet L25500 series.

The 2nd generation inks are named HP 792 and HP LX610. These improved inks offer
• higher black optical density,
• larger color gamut,
• improved gloss,
• and improved durability.

It is worth noting that the limited color gamut and dull matte appearance of original HP inks were features that the FLAAR Reports noticed. It is ironic that no trade magazine dared mention these defects of the original HP ink. Remember, this ink was around for about three years. "larger color gamut" dodges admitting that the original color gamut was much less than eco-solvent, much less than true water-based, and significantly less than mild-solvent)

We would hope that the HP latex ink yellow lasts longer also. I was discretely told that "the yellow HP latex ink does not mix well with the black HP latex ink. When it does mix it is matte."

Footnotes from HP spec sheets:

HP LX600 Latex Scitex Ink Cartridges were formerly listed as HP 786 Designjet Ink Cartridges

HP Latex Inks in both HP 786 ink cartridges and HP LX600 ink cartridges are compatible with the HP Designjet L65500 Printer.

HP Latex Inks in HP LX600 ink cartridges are also compatible with HP Scitex LX600 and LX800 Printers.

HP Scitex LX600 and LX800 Printers and the HP Designjet L65500 Printer may be upgraded to HP LX610 Latex Scitex Inks using the HP Scitex LX610 Upgrade Kit. After this conversion, these printers cannot be converted back to use HP LX600 Latex Scitex Inks.

HP792 cartridges are essentially comparable to those used in HP DesignJet Z-series: Z2100, Z3200, Z6200. We have an HP Z3200 and are totally content with the fine art giclee quality (but remember, this Z-series is not latex ink).

Growing market share success of HP Designjet latex printers and HP Scitex LX

By 2011, HP had sold over 4000 of their total range of HP latex printers. That calculation is lower than what we have been told elsewhere. But a more realistic total is 14,500 shipped worldwide (as of Spring 2013).

In comparison, the total sales of the HP Designjet 5000 and 5500 were over 150,000 units (we do not know the exact number but it was well over 100,000 units). FLAAR had three of these early Designjet printers in our test facilities and our evaluation documented how much better these models were over the earlier HP 2500, 3500, 2800, 3800 series were.

FLAAR evaluated the Designjet 5000 and 5500 printers for many years. At ISA 2013 we met a printshop who said that in those years (2002-2007) he bought 35 of these models based on FLAAR reviews (our full-color PDF). No wonder HP sold over 100,000+ units: this HP Designjet is rated (even by competitors) as one of the most practical, most reasonably priced, and (for its time) really good quality printers. Since it was a good printer the FLAAR Reports evaluations said so clearly, and these reports were read by more thousands of people than we could imagine.

But FLAAR has not published any recent evaluation of any HP latex printer due to the cost involved (to send our team to take notes in print shops around the world) and because there are so many UV-cured and textile printers for us to evaluate around the world. Plus we are now evaluating inks and media. In 2001-2006 we evaluated primarily printers and RIP software.

We are aware that many print shops are very content with their HP latex printers. It is interesting, however, that Roland is featuring comments by a Roland user who was very disappointed and switched back to eco-solvent. There are many other people who were also disappointed, but this is normal for an unusual and atypical technology. Plus some media simply is not appropriate for high curing temperatures. What will be noteworthy is how many other companies produce a viable latex-like ink, and a printer to function with reasonable curing times and reasonable curing temperatures. Thus we look forward to the coming months, as there is a lot going on behind the scenes in the world of latex ink.

HP DesignJet L26500

HP DesignJet L26500. Photo taken by FLAAR staff on April 2013


Bibliography

www.hp.com/hpinfo/newsroom/press_kits/2011/HPLatexSummit/LatexTechnology.pdf
Plus dozens of HP spec sheets and web pages.

Updated June 3, 2013.

Previously updated May 30, 2013.

 
DOWNLOAD
NOW
APPPEXPO 2016 set eco-solvent introduction Marcelo and Nicholas FLAAR-Reports
Wide-format printers, inks, media & substrates and software at ISA 2016
GOA 2016 General Introduction FLAAR Reports
SGI Dubai 2016 general introduction FLAAR Reports by Nicholas Hellmuth
Free Subscription

banner-free-trade-show

After-market Ink

Applications

Wide Format Printers

This link takes you to textile printers on our sister-site,

wide-format-printers.org

Color Management

Latest Articles on Printers

APPPEXPO 2015 Shanghai China, International Ad Print, Pack, Paper Expo, rev...
FLAAR reviews, which signage, advertising, textile printer expos are good t...
Much more than signage, ISA 2016 offers a full range of new inks, innovativ...
Graph Expo 2014 or SGIA 2014, which trade show has exhibitor list most appr...
GOA 2016 (Graphics of the Americas) offers two lectures by Dr Nicholas Hell...
Dubai is great place for Sign & Graphic Imaging Middle East trade show, SGI...
Oce Arizona 480 GT and Arizona 480 XT, UV-curable flatbed printers improved...
Seiko I Infotech launch solvent-based fluorescent neon inks. The printed im...
The Seiko II ColorPainter H2P series printers are specifically designed for...

 

FESPA Africa 2016 FLAAR Reports Inkjet Printers, Signage, Cutters Laminators, Ink, Substrates
APPPEXPO 2016 Shanghai Coaters and Laminators List, Flaar tradeshow Report
APPPEXPO 2016 Shanghai Coaters and Laminators List, Flaar tradeshow Report
APPPEXPO 2016 UV-Cured Printers, Nicholas Hellmuth, FLAAR Reports
APPPEXPO 2016 Shanghai 3D printers FLAAR Reports
FESPA 2016 wide-format printers, inks and media
SGI Dubai 2016 general introduction FLAAR Reports
APPPEXPO 2016 LED 3D traditional signage FLAAR Reports
APPPEXPO 2016 ink media coater laminator CNC text FLAAR Reports
APPPEXPO 2016 UV textile solvent latex exhibitor list preview based on 2015 set UV Flaar Reports
Textile Printers at APPPEXPO 2015
Textile Printers at APPPEXPO 2015
APPPEXPO-2015-3D-printers-3D-signage-rapid-prototypers-additive-manufacturing-FLAAR-Reports
T-Shirt Printers and Heat Presses at APPPEXPO 2015

 

linkedin logo facebook-logo twitter-logo facebook-logo twitter-logo

As of June 2017, Dr Nicholas and FLAAR had 2,468 contacts in LinkedIn (and over half a million readers worldwide on the FLAAR network).

Wide Format Inkjet printers, inks, trade shows, consulting.

Covers digital imaging, wide-format inkjet, inks, printable materials, digital photography, printer and/or signage trade shows around the world.

Maya archaeology, iconography, ethnobotany, ethnozoology, caves (Xibalba), ethnohistory (especially Popol Vuh).

Mayan studies
tweets (Iconography, Architectural History, Sports & Games, Ethnohistory, Ethnobotany, Ethnozoology, Geology of Guatemala)

Copyright © 2017. large-format-printers.org. Powered by FLAAR